Return to Headlines

Three from Amherst CSD Receive ECASB Awards

district clerkThe Amherst CSD District Clerk and two Board of Education members were the recipients of 2021 awards from the Erie County Association of School Boards. Each was recognized and presented with their award during the ECASB Fall Awards Dinner on Oct. 7.


ACSD District Clerk Deborah Custodi was the 2021 recipient of the ECASB School District Clerk Service to Education Award Sponsored by Webster Szanyi, LLP. The award recognizes a School District Clerk that has made contributions to the betterment of education or the betterment in the operations of Board of Education meetings within the district. Nominated by Superintendent Anthony Panella and the Board of Education, her efficiency, organization, knowledge and preparation supports the board throughout the year at monthly meetings and the annual budget vote and election. Serving as district clerk for the past 10 years, her attention to detail has resulted in improvements to the BOE webpages, board packets, and board updates, as well as a number of other operations that impact board efficiency.

Board members Board member Lorry Goldhawk was the recipient of the Shining Star Award. Criteria for the award was attendance at nine or more ECASB events/meetings in the past year. Mrs. Goldhawk has been a member of the board since 2014. She currently serves on the ACSD transportation committee and the ECASB executive board.


Board member Mark Smith was the recipient of The Rising Star Award. Criteria for the award is attendance at five or more events/meetings within the past year. Mr. Smith was elected to the board in 2017 and is in his second term. He serves on the ACSD audit committee, is an ECASB representative on the budge/finance and legislative teams and a delegate for the New York State School Board Association.


Pictured above are board president Paul Steimle, vice president Jeanne Ernst, district clerk Debbie Custodi, board member Jessica McLaughlin, board member Lorry Goldhawk, superintendent Anthony Panella.